Buzzer logo

TransLink news, commentary, and behind-the-scenes stories.

Upcoming rail replacement work on the Expo Line

Upcoming rail replacement work on the Expo Line

Running rail replacement on July 17, 19 and 20, from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service, will mean modified service between Stadium–Chinatown and Waterfront stations.
Running rail replacement will mean modified late evening service between Stadium–Chinatown and Waterfront stations.

As part of keeping our system in a state of good repair, we are replacing 5,000 linear metres of running rail at four main locations close to Metrotown, Main Street–Science World, Stadium–Chinatown and Waterfront stations.

Replacement work is currently taking place in the Stadium–Chinatown area, resulting in modified evening SkyTrain service in downtown Vancouver. The affected dates and times are:

  • Monday, July 17; Wednesday, July 19; Thursday, July 20 and Sunday, July 23 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Monday, July 24 through Thursday, July 27 (from 11:59 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Sunday, July 30; Monday, July 31 and Thursday, August 3 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Monday, August 7 through Thursday, August 10 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Sunday, August 13; Tuesday, August 15 and Wednesday, August 16 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Sunday, August 20 and Tuesday, August 22 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service); Wednesday, August 23 (from 10:30 p.m. until the end of service); and Thursday, August 24 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Sunday, August 27 through Thursday, August 31 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Monday, September 4 through Thursday, September 7 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Sunday September 10 and Monday, September 11 (from 9:30 p.m. until the end of service)
  • Tuesday, October 10 (from 10:30 p.m. until the end of service)

(Author’s Note: Due to the rescheduling of the J. Cole concert at Rogers Arena from Tuesday, July 18 to Wednesday, July 19, rail replacement work is cancelled on July 19.) 

Expo Line trains will terminate at Stadium-Chinatown Station, operating with a normal 5 minute frequency. A shuttle train will operate every 10 minutes between Waterfront, Burrard, Granville and Stadium-Chinatown stations. Expo Line passengers connecting at Stadium–Chinatown should allow for 5-10 minutes extra travel time.

Normal 10 minute service frequency is provided on the Millennium Line, and on the Expo Line to both King George and Production Way–University.  The Canada Line will also operate normally.

Customers are advised to watch destination displays and listen for train destination announcements. We thank you for your patience as we complete this essential work.

How does this affect your commute? Check out our Alerts Page for pattern changes and upcoming work.
Find more information on the entire project, visit translink.ca/railreplacement.